Profile of Dr. M.Y.S. Prasad

Dr. M.Y.S. Prasad assumed the charge of Vice-Chancellor, Vignan's Foundation for Science, Technology and Research University from 01 July 2017. Prior to that he was advisor to the University for one year. Dr. M.Y.S. Prasad worked in ISRO for 40 years from 1975 to 2015 in different Centers and Units in the executive positions. He retired from Govt. service in May 2015 as Distinguished Scientist (APEX) in ISRO, and Director of Satish Dhawan Space Centre, Sriharikota, ISRO. He held the following positions in ISRO:

- ♣ Director, Satish Dhawan Space Centre, SHAR, (2013 2015)
- ♣ Associate Director, Satish Dhawan Space Centre, SHAR, (2008 2013)
- ♣ Director, Development and Educational Communication Unit (DECU) and Dy. Director Space Application Centre, Ahmadabad (2005 - 2008)
- ♣ Director, Master Control Facility, Hassan (1998 2005)
- ♣ Dy. Project Director, PSLV (1997 1998)
- Counsellor (SPACE) Embassy of India, Paris (1994 1997)
- ♣ Dy. Project Director, ASLV and Project Manager in ASLV & SLV3 Projects in Vikram Sarabai Space Centre, Trivandrum (1975 - 1994)

During his long experience in Indian Space programme, Dr. M.Y.S. Prasad steered various activities and programmes in ISRO. He was involved and controlled all the launches of Launch vehicles from 2008 to 2015. Dr. M.Y.S. Prasad created a number of new systems and processes in ISRO which includes new MCF at Bhopal, New Mission Control at SHAR. He was Chief Designer for a large beam steering Phased Array Radar with most sophisticated and advanced features, and the Radar is called Multi Object Tracking Radar (MOTR) commissioned in SDSC-SHAR.

Dr. M.Y.S. Prasad represented ISRO & INDIA in United Nations Committee on peaceful uses of Outer Space (UN - COPUOS) for eleven years from 1995 - 2006. He is active in International Professional Organizations like IAF, IAA, and IISL etc.

He had more than forty publications in various International and National journals, International symposia. He obtained his Ph.D in Satellite Communications field from Birla Institute of Technology and Sciences (BITS).

His major recognitions and awards are:-

- "Professor Nayudamma" Award for 2013.
- ♣ Honorary Doctorate from Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University, Kakinada in June, 2013
- 4 Govt. of India's Civilian Award Padma Shri for the year 2014
- Honorary Doctorate from Vignan University, Guntur, AP in 2014.
- **4** "Vikram Sarabhai Memorial Award 2014-15 by the Indian Science Congress Association.
- Fellow of Institution of Electronics & Telecommunication Engineers (IETE) and Honoured with Diamond Jubilee Medal 2014
- ♣ International Academy of Astronautics (IAA) Laurels for Team Award-2013 for key role in Chandrayaan-I Mission.
- ♣ Selected and elected as the Member of International Institute of Space Law (IISL) with Headquarters in Paris.

Outstanding Performance Award of ISRO 2012, announced in Aug 2015.

Honorary Doctorate from Sri Krishna Devaraya University, Anantapur, AP. December 2017.